The Tour Take | Vuelta a Espana Stage 10

Photo: Twila Federica Muzzi

Photo: Twila Federica Muzzi

The Steps

1st – Elia Viviani (Quick-Step Floors)

2nd – Peter Sagan (Bora - hansgrohe)

3rd – Giacomo Nizzolo (Trek - Segafredo)


The Jerseys

Red - Simon Yates (Mitchelton - SCOTT)

Green - Alejandro Valverde (Team Movistar)

Polka Dot - Luis Angel Mate (Cofidis)


The GC

1st - Simon Yates (Mitchelton - SCOTT)

2nd - Alejandro Valverde (Team Movistar) @ 0:01

3rd - Nairo Quintana (Team Movistar) @ 0:14 

4th - Emanuel Buchmann (Bora - hansgrohe) @ 0:16

5th - Jon Izagirre (Bahrain Merida) @ 0:17

6th - Tony Gallopin (AG2R La Mondiale) @ 0:24

7th - Miguel Angel Lopez (Astana Pro Team) @ 0:27

8th - Rigoberto Uran (EF Education First - Drapac p/b Cannondale) @ 0:32

9th - Steven Kruiswijk (Team LottoNL-Jumbo) @ 0:43

10th - George Bennet (Team LottoNL-Jumbo) 0:48



The Route

From Salamanca to Bermillo de Sayagor, Stage 10 was set up for a sprint. With just the one Cat 3 climb on the 177km route, there was little to trouble the sprinters.


The Key Point

The finish was set-up for an all-out drag race, as there was barely a corner in the last 15km. There was a slight bend in the road with 10km to go, and then another with 1km. 


The Break

Jesus Equerra attacked from the gun and looked like he'd be enjoying a day on his own, but after 30km he was joined by Tiago Machado who had bridged over on his second attempt. The two were given 4:00 break, and brought back with 30km to go; the sprinters made sure not to let another chance slip after a successful opening week for breakaways


The Finish

The sprinter's teams left it late before ramping up the pace, they was into the final 3km before noticeably getting quicker.

Into the final kilometre and it was Quick-Step with control as they looked to deliver Elia Viviani. A late attack came from Lukas Postlberger as he tried to snatch a win, but he was slowly reeled in by Michael Morkov, the Quick-Step leadout man.

The Wolfpack was again perfect in delivering the Italian champ Viviani, with Peter Sagan in second and Giacomo Nizzolo in third.


The Votes

3 - Elia Viviani. 2018's best sprinter won again with another faultless team performance

2 – Lukas Postlberger. Postlberger's late move nearly paid dividends as he tried to catch the sprinters off guard

1 – Peter Sagan. The World Champ's form's slowly coming around, tomorrow might be a day for him if he's good enough

Leaders: Valverde (6), King (5), Mate, Viviani (4), Bouhanni, Clarke, Dennis, Gallopin, Kwiatkowski, Mollema, Sagan (3), De Plus, Herrada, Mollard, Postlberger, S Yates, (2), Campenaerts, Cortina, Porte,  Quintana, Rolland, Woods (1), De Gendt (-1)

The Next Stage

The peloton will cross four categorised climbs on the 208km route from Mombuey to Luintra, the last of which comes with 20km to go. There are still a few more rollers though, with a step 2km kicker topping out with 3km to go, after a quick descent, the road again rises in the final kilometre.


The Pick

This again looks too difficult for the sprinters, especially with the climbing all day before the finale. It's hard to look past Alejandro Valverde when he's in such imperious form, and we're backing him to take the win.

See you back at the social club,



Embed Block
Add an embed URL or code. Learn more
Joshua DugganComment